Musical Theatre

Guest Foxy

Branching off from the London thread I'd thought I'd start a thread for all the musical theatre enthusiasts out there! :D

I'm a drama student and its most definitely my favourite theatrical "medium".....theres something about telling a story through songs that just really interests me!!

Off the top of my head I've seen (either in the West End or on tour).....Wicked (just a few times... :wink: ), Mary Poppins (GUTTED that its closing in January!), Footloose, Chicago, Phantom of the Opera, Les Miserables, Bombay Dreams, Acorn Antiques, Jospeh and the Amazing Techinicolour Dreamcoat, The Rocky Horror Show, Grease, Miss Saigon, The Lion King......

And I'm very much anticipating the West End debut of Hairspray and Spring Awakening both of which have received great reviews on Broadway!!

Any other enthusiasts out there? :D

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The Lion King is by far the best thing I've seen on stage! It was amazing.

I love going to the West End although I have to admit I've never been a huge fan of musicals - more of an opera girl myself ( :blush: ) although for some reason I really like the musical 'Rent'.

I love the theatre though, I've seen plays like Journey's End (so sad). Blithe Spirit - this was hysterical, Mouse Trap,...I can't think of anymore but there have been some great ones.

Yay! I love this thread already! This year I have been to see Fame! (In Newcastle), Les Miserables, Avenue Q and Wicked in the west end! I also have major love for RENT, the film version and Hairspray the film. Would love to go and see those 2 in theatre. Although I don't like the sound of RENT being remixed. May just give it a chance never know may just love it. Also I know Hairspray is coming to the West end too :D