All of Alf's childhood sweethearts

Sally Keating

I just thought I'd make a list and see if anyone can work out the chronology or how they all fit together. As far as I know there was:

Viv Standish (grandmother of Ric)

Julia Bowman (Meg's mum)

Mary Jackson (Quinn's mother)

And Martha Stewart - was it ever said exactly when he married her?

Then after Martha there was Tulip and then Ailsa.

Was there anyone else and what order were the first few in?

Trying to work it  out but I'm not very good at these things. Alf was 60 in 2005 meaning he was 43 in 1988. Roo was 16 in 1988 so Alf had married Martha at least 16 years prior, putting Alf at around 27 when Roo was born. When we meet Quinn in 1995, she's not much older than Roo would be, in fact she says she's still in college. This means Alf couldn't have been married to Martha for very long prior to becoming pregnant with Roo  (it may even have been a shotgun wedding) which means they weren't married for much longer than those 16/17 years. Unless Alf cheated on Martha with Mary? Someone else pick it up, my head hurts... :D:wacko:

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Alf was around 18 when he last saw Viv (and fathered Owen who was born c.1964), they'd known each other since they were children.

Alf married Martha in April 1969. Roo was originally supposed to have been born around February 1971, but as with other birthdays it's always been a bit fluid.

They fudged up the year with Julia Bowman (nothing changes) as he was said to have partnered her to her Summer Bay graduation ball in 1970 (there was an age difference), where they were crowned king and queen.

Alf and Tulip were mid-1987 and before he met Ailsa (presumably only just before). Tulip died in the September.

45 minutes ago, Dan F said:

Alf was around 18 when he last saw Viv (and fathered Owen who was born c.1964), they'd known each other since they were children.