Jump to content

VNZMA 2008

Guest KatieroxNZ

Recommended Posts

Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards 2008

Tiki Taane and Liam Finn lead finalist list for biggest music awards ever

Former Salmonella Dub front-man Tiki Taane dominates the finalists for the 2008 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards in a list that contains the country’s biggest names in music.

Tiki Taane is a finalist in six categories; Liam Finn picks up four spots while Flight of the Conchords, Shihad and The Phoenix Foundation grab three, and Scribe and Anika Moa two.

The finalists were announced today at a function at Auckland’s Langham Hotel. The winning artists are set to be honoured at the biggest-ever event in the awards’ 43-year history when the red carpet is rolled out at Vector Arena, Auckland on October 8.

The prestigious Nokia Album of the Year category includes Anika Moa (In Swings the Tide), Flight of the Conchords (Flight of the Conchords), Liam Finn (I’ll be Lightning), Scribe (Rhymebook), and Tiki Taane (Past, Present and Future).

Tiki Taane and Liam Finn are also finalists in the Vodafone Single of the Year category for their singles ‘Always on my Mind’ and ´Gather to the Chapel’ respectively. Opshop (‘One Day’), Shihad (‘One will Hear the Other’) and The Phoenix Foundation (‘Bright Grey’) round off the category finalists.

Also announced today was the recipient of the second The New Zealand Herald Legacy Award – Straitjacket Fits. The legendary Dunedin band will be officially honoured at the main awards ceremony and will also be inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.

Awards spokesperson Campbell Smith says the finalists list reflects the continuing quality and diversity of New Zealand music.

“It is great to see a wide mix of established and newer artists named as finalists, once again recognising the depth and breadth of New Zealand music talent across the full range of genres.”

Also announced today were the winners of Technical Awards. Tuis were presented for:

Best Album Cover to Barny Bewick of Indium Design for Keep Me On Your Side (Goodnight Nurse)

Best Engineer to Lee Prebble of The Surgery for Happy Ending (The Phoenix Foundation)

Best Producer to Lee Prebble of The Surgery for Happy Ending (The Phoenix Foundation)

The Awards are on the 8th October 2008 :)

They will be on C4 live on the 8th starting at 7:30pm

Gooooooo Op Shop! :P:P

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.