Ada Nicodemou: my best times

Guest doofynz

Taken from http://health.ninemsn.com.au/page.aspx?id=66942

Ada Nicodemou: my best times

Life's never been better for Home And Away's Ada Nicodemou who's also stepping it out on Dancing With The Stars. Here's her story...

"I never thought of acting as a career. I got my first full-time job on Heartbreak High when I was 15, but I was always anxious to leave acting and get a proper job. I left the industry for a year, and I studied and worked as an event coordinator. But then I realised I missed acting. I enjoy the lifestyle of being an actor. I like that the hours are different. I still don't know whether I want to do acting for the rest of my life, and I think part of that is because of the instability of the work. I never feel I can really rely on it. I've been lucky, though — I've been working for 12 years straight, and I guess there aren't too many actors who can say that.

"I wouldn't move overseas to act. My career is not that important to me. But my family and friends are very important to me. And I would never leave all of that to go to the US and be a struggling actor. There are so many other things I can do with my life in this beautiful country of ours. I want to one day be a mum and a wife and be able to take my kids to school, and I want to do that in Australia, where I was brought up. I wouldn't want to bring kids up in America. I couldn't think of anything worse.

"I'm very close to my family. I'm 28 and I still live with my mum and my brother, Costa, and I have no plans to move out. Why would I? I come and go as I please and Mum's a fabulous cook. Plus I like hanging out with my family. I think you've got the rest of your life to be away from your family. My dad has lived in Cyprus since I was about 15, and I don't get to see him very often. I've only seen him twice since he's been there, but it's fine, we find other ways to communicate.