Hercules and Xena

Guest emmasi

Recent additions to the H&A cast (ie Jay Laga'aia) have exposed a latent desire to discuss Hercules and Xena. So here we are! Discuss away!

I'm no expert - I can't recall each and every episode by name - but I enjoyed both these shows. They both lost me in the later seasons but that's not uncommon. Xena had a few offerings left in it by season six with episodes like "Lyre Lyre" and "You Are There," but I lost track of Hercules after Iolaus died... or was possessed... or both... It's been a while :huh:. Lucky for me, Michael Hurst played the TV reporter in "You Are There," and I got to see him interviewing all of the characters in Xena, asking the hard-hitting questions such as: how do the gods of Love and War cope with being stinky, impotent mortals? and what IS the exact nature of Xena and Gabrielle's relationship??? :o Good times, good times.

I like the episodes that take the characters out of the hero/warrior genre, where there is singing and dancing and time-skips and alternate universes, including one in which Hercules is pretending to be Kevin Sorbo pretending to be Hercules... "Yes, Virginia, There Is A Hercules!" :D

It's been years since I've actually watched Hercules, which is a shame because I liked it better than Xena for a long time (mostly because I was in love with Iolaus :wub:). I have a collection of fan-favourites Xena DVDs so I'm more familiar with that series now (though like I said, no expert). My favourite episodes (off the top of my head) are "Been There, Done that," "The Quill Is Mightier," "The Bitter Suite," and "You Are There." "Lyre Lyre" and "The Xena Scrolls" are always good for a laugh, and anything with Callisto in it is just neat.