Kevin Carter's Infamous Prize Winning Photo

Guest KirstyEkua

In my Anthropology of International Health class today (i'm studying for a Masters in African Studies) we were discussing structural violence i.e 'violence that is exerted systematically - that is, indirectly by everyone who belongs to a certain social order.'

One example was this picture, showing a little girl crawling towards a UN feeding programme in the Sudan during the fammine. The vulture in the background is waiting for her to die so he can eat her.

The photographer, Kevin Carter stood for 20 mins before taking the picture as he wanted the bird to spread his wings so he could ge a better shot. But he gave up and took the picture, leaving immediately. No one knows what happened to the girl.

3 months later he killed himself, alledgely owning to depression.

The picture is incredibly controversial and i just wondered what you're thoughts were on it? Do you think the girl is the subject of violece? Or the photographer himself? Do you think he was right to take this?

Just let me know your opinions please. I'm thinking of writing a paper relating to the subject and your views would be really helpful :)

sudanchild1.jpg

When watching media of tragedies such as we usually get one awful story, such as the one above. What we don't see is the hundreds of other people dying in the same place at the same time. For us, it is us and that girl. For him it was probably literally thousands of starving Sudanese surrounding him. The decision to leave the girl alone is probably similiar to choosing one life over another.

Was he right to take this. Yes, I believe reporters to these types of stories are right to try and gain emotive images like this, though I would like to think that those who do this kind of journalism are there because they think they have a skill that can help the Africans rather than to make big bucks.