Model moves

Guest Andy

Model moves

The Gold Coast Bulletin

4 May 2006

HOME AND AWAY

Weeknights, 7pm

Seven, Prime

IT'S just a year since Queenslander Jodi Gordon landed in Summer Bay but audiences like what they see.

The Mackay model-turned-actress vies for a coveted silver statuette in the Most Popular New Female Talent category at the TV Week Logies Awards on Sunday.

Her rivals are Home and Away co-star Sharni Vinson, Neighbours star Pippa Black, Headland's Rachael Taylor and Great Outdoors reporter Jennifer Hawkins.

Gordon doubts she can win the title but she's `stoked' to make the cut.

Gordon had never acted before she landed her role on Home and Away.

"I'm still learning. I work hard with the tutor but there's more I need to know," she says. " I'm happy to be included at all."

So who does she think will win the category?

"Jen (Hawkins), of course. I mean here I am up against the most beautiful woman in the world. As if I can win. Give me a break."

Gordon could be wrong.

One internet poll names her the hottest star on TV for the month of May. The same poll ranks Hawkins at No.18.

Gordon says she has her Home and Away character to thank for her nomination.

She plays Martha, the long-lost grand-daughter of Bay veteran Alf (Ray Meagher).

"She's a great character - fun, outgoing, a bit of a tomboy, although she's become a bit more feminine than she was when I started the role," Gordon laughs.

"Like all of the kids who land in Summer Bay, when she arrived she was a bit rough around the edges but after a few months she started to clean herself up."

It's been a big year professionally for Gordon, who has watched her character Martha develop a relationship with her grandfather, make friends, fall in love and become a suspect in a murder case.

Gordon debuted on the series working mainly opposite veteran Meagher, whose colourful Alf amounts to an elder statesman of Home and Away.